Bandwidth Fix

Discuss and provide feedback on Maps.
User avatar
captainsnarf
Posts: 2715
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 1:51 pm
Location: Washington
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by captainsnarf »

pooty wrote: Fri Apr 07, 2023 9:48 am Also, Snarf correct me here, but just because you don't hear hit sound doesn't mean you didn't hit.. hit sound is a low priority item, meaning server will give you it only if you have bandwidth.
I'm not really sure on the priority of sounds.

I know on some of the freon servers there is a damage indicator option. A little graphic pops up (number) when you hit them showing how much damage you did. Sometimes I see the number but don't hear the hit sound. I don't think it's entirely bandwidth related. It's also tick. The CPU needs to process all actions between ticks. Sounds might not always make it in time but not sure.
User avatar
pooty
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:22 am
Location: Michigan
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by pooty »

Stats for Today/Yesterday
Image

I'd say doing alright! I did notice during Minus-KS,my input for bit was 45-50K. Actually hit 50498. Made me wonder if we shouldn't increase it a bit to 55000 or 60000. Though most maps don't need that, but it doesn't hurt anything to have the bandwidth.

Good news is 30 tick rate, 32 players, plus the faster netspeed doesn't seem to be hitting the CPU to hard.
User avatar
captainsnarf
Posts: 2715
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 1:51 pm
Location: Washington
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by captainsnarf »

Can we change PersistNetSpeed to true? It's not really a speed, but a speed limit, and we are already persisting their MaxClientRate value. Persisting one but not the other is not as useful as doing both.
User avatar
pooty
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:22 am
Location: Michigan
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by pooty »

Changes made:

[BandwidthFix.MutBandwidthFix]
MaxPlayers=32
ClientNetSpeed=60000
bSetClientNetSpeed=true
bPersistClientNetSpeed=true
bSetMaxClientRate=true
MaxClientRateValue=100000

[IpDrv.TcpNetDriver]
MaxClientRate=100000
MaxInternetClientRate=60000

[UTCompOmni.MutUTComp]
MaxNetSpeed=60000
User avatar
pooty
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:22 am
Location: Michigan
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by pooty »

https://www.omnipotents.com/utstats/mat ... match=4364
Still have many players running with lower netspeeds.... I can't imagine playing with 9636...
User avatar
infinitecat
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 3:02 pm
Location: Dallas

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by infinitecat »

How does one adjust such netspeeds? (Using a Mac, if that makes any difference.) Thanks!
User avatar
pooty
Posts: 4537
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:22 am
Location: Michigan
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by pooty »

You can set it via console (~) and type netspeed 50000 or you can edit your UT2004.ini file:

[IpDrv.TcpNetDriver]
MaxClientRate=100000
MaxInternetClientRate=100000

In fact you might have to edit the above to get the higher speeds, those are maximums. Keep in mind that 100000 netspeed is just 100 kB/s, or 0.1 mB /sec, so unless you're still on AOL or Compuserve you'll be fine.

Our bandwidth mutator will also I believe set it for you.
User avatar
Anonymous.
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2021 10:54 pm

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by Anonymous. »

Yeah, I tested it and it works. Hopefully after this change everyone will be running at 60000 now.
User avatar
infinitecat
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 3:02 pm
Location: Dallas

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by infinitecat »

Something curious.

I changed my netspeed to 50000 but couldn't see other servers using the "Internet" tab. I had to lower it to 25000 to see other servers. (Onslaught only)

UNLESS the servers were in my Favorites, then it didn't matter HOW high I set the netspeed.
User avatar
McLovin
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:54 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Server Sponsor: Yes
Server Admin: Yes

Re: Bandwidth Fix

Post by McLovin »

To be crystal clear, we don't need to change anything, it will happen automatically?
pooty wrote: Mon Apr 10, 2023 10:46 am ...
Our bandwidth mutator will also I believe set it for you.
Anonymous. wrote: Mon Apr 10, 2023 10:48 am ...
Hopefully after this change everyone will be running at 60000 now.
Post Reply